IFTTT: What Can’t You Do For Me Evernote?

10 May

20130510-055018.jpgI was on my regular jaunt through the vast world of http-ville when I came across a website called IFTTT. My mindset lately (thanks to several of my peers) has been to focus my time in creating integrated technology services that translates well in the classroom.

Here’s what I’m Thinking:

-I want to use evernote more without having to use it at all.
-I want Evernote to be my primary source for all stored information collected from http-ville
-I dont want to have to clip, email, or copy all great resources when i find them (yes I am lazy)
-I want to transfer my resources to a public domain (classroom, blog, website).
-I want to be the finder of everything amazing and holy in the world and Evernote shall be my tool

IFTTT is PART of the solution. IFTTT stands for “If This Then That”. Once given permission IFTTT will access your accounts, create specific tasks or events, and place them in the designated areas.

For example: Often I will find YouTube videos that have been posted on Twitter and think how great it would be that if i added a video to a specific folder in my YouTube account that it would automatically show up in my Evernote account as well. PRESTO!! That happened. I tested it out, and sure enough it created the folder that I wanted in my Evernote (labelled “youtube”) and now will have access to that video not only in my favorites folder, but also in my Evernote. I also connected pocket so that when surfing Twitter I wont have to email my Evernote account every time I find something I like because it does it for me.

In the realm of education, I am not sure where I would go with this. There is always SOO much you can do and I guess the real struggle for me is when is it too much. For now I am going to focus my concerns on how i can use evernote as a multi-faceted tool. How much easier is life if I create a RSS feed for my blog which connected to a shared folder in my evernote and all I ever needed to do was just move my thoughts from folder to another. I found an interesting YouTube clip that, although brief, discusses some shared interests on this and has really projected me towards exploring the possiblities of using Evernote in the classroom. Of course I also have an evernote shared folder, that if interested, you can check out and will be updating.

I am sure that their must be some fall backs on this (pessimist I know but sue me if technology hasn’t always been my best friend) but I am hoping that using IFTTT will help me dial in my tech skills so I can start to focus my life in http-ville with more clarity.

So whats next? Perfecting the blog and life of the RSS feed i’m guessing.

Leave a Reply

Zero-Knowledge Proofs

Random thoughts about teaching math

Educational Consultant: Humanity - Pedagogy - Technology

Digital maverick, revolutionary pedagogue educator, scientist, explorer and teacher of science through extreme sports. @natkin

The Roots of the Equation

Trying to find math inside everything else

Denise Gaskins' Let's Play Math

Helping families to learn and enjoy math together.

dy/dan

less helpful

